Meet Member Josephine G.: The Theology of Possibility

Note from the Editor

Today, we’re shining the spotlight on one of our talented member writers!

Introducing member Josephine G.!

Hello, I am Josephine Griffiths. I am an author, mentor and retreat facilitator. Born in London, I came to Perth as an adolescent and started work here at 14. I began my tertiary education when I was forty; loved university and did three degrees in rapid succession because it was such fun! My first love, from my earliest years, was with Christianity, and theology remains my primary passion. I love writing what I call ‘the theology of possibility’, finding ways of making the whole Christian thing make sense in the now rather than continuing to promote a religion that many people outside find medieval!

Two thousand years of teaching and devotion, covering an endless and ever-changing variety of beliefs, needs and circumstances, have solidified Jesus, the Point of it all, into a distant and largely irrelevant figure whose words and their ‘meaning’ seem to have little to say to us.

Now, it is fascinating to explore new, equally valid interpretations that turn the old familiar ones on their heads, bring a new flavour to the stories, and reconnect to the genuine delights to be found in the teaching of Jesus. No way am I claiming to present ‘the real Jesus’; I am simply looking at His words with new eyes, a woman’s eyes, and seeing possibilities in the symbols that can show a more attractive and appealing figure who seems to have enjoyed His life, and wanted others to do the same.