Tech Talk with Dr Al: Personal Vehicle Trackers – Not a Luxury, a Need!

Note from the Editor:

This article was kindly written for the SDC by member Alan G, ‘The Tech Guy’.

My first car was a 1933 Austin 7 that I called ‘Tinkerbell’ – certainly not worth stealing for a joy ride! However, when I was a student living in ‘digs’ in Battersea, it did get ‘moved’ at one point, and I still can’t understand why. My point is that thieves don’t discriminate most of the time, and my little old banger was probably ‘easy pickings’. Now, for a minimal cost, we can protect our car with a ‘tracker’ that lets us know exactly where it is at any time or in fact, has been!

Having decided that a vehicle tracker is a good idea, I had to choose the one that does the job for a minimal cost. Of course, price should not be a major consideration when compared with the cost of replacing a car. However, it seems to be in my DNA to try to save money.

A word about OBD (On-Board Diagnostics):

You may not have noticed the socket underneath your dashboard. It is called ‘OBD2’ (earlier versions used a variety of sockets), and it is a requirement that all vehicles manufactured in Australia and New Zealand be OBD2 compliant after January 1, 2006. It is a computerised system that provides access to data from the engine control unit (ECU) and offers a valuable source of information when troubleshooting problems inside a vehicle. It ensures that the system is operating as designed or delivering what it is designed to do. If something is outside the prescribed operating conditions, an alert can be sent out, or other actions can be taken to bring the system back into balance.

photo1 (1).jpg
The input for member Alan G’s car tracker. Image Credit: SDC/Member Alan G.