Meet Member @Placid: Jack of all trades and the SDC's Spyder-man

Note from the Editor

Today, we’re shining the spotlight on one of the earliest Seniors Discount Club members!

Introducing member @Placid!

I was born in 1944 in Warrnambool and grew up with my family on a dairy farm. I was the sixth of 13 children.

I will turn 80 in May this year.

I started work as a welder/truck driver for the first 20 years of my working life in Warrnambool. While doing this, I worked on Thursday nights and Saturday afternoons as a bookmakers clerk.

Later, my wife, Carol, and I managed a motel. I also operated as a licensed bookmaker in Western Victoria.

We moved to Melbourne in 1983 for work, where I worked as a motor mower mechanic.

From there, I worked for the last 20 years before retiring in the engineering department at Maroondah Hospital. My best two jobs were this one and my turn as a bookmaker.

I retired at the end of 2014, at the age of 70, after working for 55 years.

4B33F8CDC8A9478A9BA7E6AE1EEC8CD7 (1).jpg
Image Credit: Member @Placid

I really enjoy retired life, spending a lot of time with friends in the Ulysses Club. This club is for those over 40 who ride motorcycles. We ride whenever we can and do quite a few impromptu rides. I ride a Spyder, and we have 29 of these in our branch of the club. As I write this, I am relaxing after a ride to Pheasant Creek for lunch with the boys.

My wife, Carol, doesn’t ride on the back. About ten years ago, she tried for her own licence. She fell off and broke her ankle. She reckons she had a go and is not keen to ride at all now.

We have been married for 52 years. Our golden wedding anniversary was right in the middle of COVID. In Victoria, we were locked up thanks to dictator Dan, and our celebration dinner was takeaway fish and chips from just around the corner.

C1B59AB462644B21993F642B78A26A75 (1).jpg