SDC Rewards Member Upgrade yours now
Vella Gonzaga

Vella Gonzaga

Administrator
Staff member
Aug 23, 2021
5 science-backed supplements that can help keep your mind & body sharp as you age

I'm not a doctor, so take everything I say in this article with a grain of salt, but I have to admit I'm skeptical when it comes to most of the vitamins and supplements you'll find littering the shelves in a typical pharmacy. In most cases, I suspect eating a balanced diet (and possibly supplementing that with a multivitamin) is enough to ensure you're getting all the nutrients you need.

That said, there are a few supplements that have some science behind them when it comes to general wellbeing, cognitive function, and brain health, and you may not be getting enough of them even if you live a relatively healthy lifestyle. Here are five that I think are worth discussing with your GP, especially as you get older.

1. Fish oil
zbi7pZGMc7BKSB1hsAYrFuJUsTCzvHa_Sz4P8juvLm055vd_NvAFKoqYBrigqq613LTS5WRX72i1s9mCpJ6CjhF9Y4e4HKLcpgPmuLeS2dG0goS7n5O60k0zGjUjE2F8LyKcKvozTyCxdQmgaA

Credits: Unsplash

Fish oil is a good source of omega-3 fatty acids, which are important for brain health. Several studies have found that omega-3 supplementation can improve cognitive function and mood. According to Healthline, people with depression or a mild decline in brain function should consider taking omega-3s from fish oil, as they may see improvements in their symptoms and brain function.

Another study showed that habitual use of fish oil seems to be associated with a lower risk of all cause and CVD (cardiovascular disease) mortality.

Although it's possible to get these omega-3s from eating fish, taking a supplement is an easy way to make sure you're getting enough.

2. Vitamin D
lttFSdjiAcMI_O5v212zDpWLJCWFaJCVfwYQpcn0LNFsbV_6zxBMgErdQ7_QF0_mFhijoMfvwryiaIeuXpkdkw-uoQRLcvQOtFCQ1vuBH7bHVgNdZJFnV8CmLg3Goaz4QGsjITtyL75UMpAAng