SDC_Bot

Staff member
Jan 21, 2022
SDC Trivia Game #484 - 21/09/2024

Question 1: What is the primary greenhouse gas emitted through human activities?

Carbon dioxide (CO2) is the primary greenhouse gas emitted through human activities. CO2 is released through burning fossil fuels (coal, natural gas, and oil), solid waste, trees and other biological materials, and also as a result of certain chemical reactions (e.g., manufacture of cement). CO2 is removed from the atmosphere when it is absorbed by plants as part of the biological carbon cycle.

Question 2: Where do most hurricanes that impact the United States originate?

Most hurricanes that make landfall in the United States originate in the Atlantic Ocean. They typically form off the coast of Africa and are steered westward by trade winds, often strengthening as they cross the warm waters of the Atlantic.

Question 3: What is the name of the fictional city where Batman operates?

Gotham City is the dark, crime-ridden fictional city that serves as the home base for the DC Comics superhero Batman. It's often portrayed as a gritty, industrial urban landscape that mirrors the dark tone of the Batman stories.

Question 4: Who is credited with inventing calculus?

Both Isaac Newton and Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz independently developed the foundations of calculus in the late 17th century. While Newton was the first to develop the ideas, Leibniz created much of the notation used in calculus today.

Question 5: If animals could talk, the dog would be a blundering outspoken fellow; but the cat would have the rare grace of never saying a word too much. Who wrote this?

This quote is from Mark Twain's "Pudd'nhead Wilson and Other Tales." Mark Twain, the pen name of Samuel Langhorne Clemens, was a celebrated American writer, humorist, entrepreneur, publisher, and lecturer best known for his novels "The Adventures of Tom Sawyer" and "Adventures of Huckleberry Finn."