Reinvent Your Driveway Etiquette: Sydney Man's Genius Hack Stops Public Urination Dead in Its Tracks!

In the quiet suburb of Waverley, Sydney, a homeowner's battle against public urination has taken a turn for the innovative. Stephen Bodnar, an electrician by trade, was at his wit's end with late-night revelers treating his driveway as their personal lavatory. The proximity of his property to local watering holes, The Charing Cross Hotel and The Robin Hood Hotel, meant that his driveway had become an all-too-convenient stop for those who had imbibed one too many and couldn't quite make it home without a pit stop.

The issue of public urination is not unique to Bodnar's driveway. It's a problem that plagues many communities, creating not only a public health concern but also a social nuisance. The smell, the mess, and the lack of respect for private property can be incredibly frustrating for homeowners. But where many might have thrown their hands up in despair, Bodnar saw an opportunity for a creative solution.

Fed up with the unpleasant surprises left by inebriated individuals, Bodnar decided to take action. He invested in a $3,000 system that is part genius, part garden-variety home defense. The setup includes a motion detector, a bright light, and a sprinkler system that delivers a three-minute downpour. The system is active between the hours of 6pm and 6am, prime time for pub-goers to be stumbling home.

49dbeedc4343ac939579436482f50092d2aabcea.jpg
A Sydney homeowner installed a sprinkler and CCTV system to stop late-night drinkers from urinating in his driveway. Credit: Facebook / 7NEWS Sydney