SDC Rewards Member Upgrade yours now
A

Athena E.

Administrator
Staff member
Aug 1, 2023
AIBU 12.08.2024

AIBU, which stands for 'Am I Being Unreasonable', is the perfect platform for sharing your thoughts and opinions! So, for today's AIBU discussion, we have this story from Reddit/Royal-Combination-62:

Am I unreasonable for not following my boyfriend’s great-grandmother’s advice?

'I was visiting my boyfriend’s family home when my son (from my previous marriage) accidentally burned himself on the grill. As a nurse, I knew to clean the burn with cold water. My boyfriend’s great-grandmother, who is nearly 100, suggested putting butter on it. I declined, explaining that I wouldn’t use butter for a burn.'

'His mother then said it would be disrespectful not to follow his great-grandmother’s advice. I argued that it was disrespectful to ignore my professional judgment about treating my own child.'

'When they insisted again, I firmly said that butter is for cooking, not for burns. I saw his mother attempt to put butter on my son, so I removed my child from the situation and left.'

'My boyfriend was upset with how I handled it, saying I am not to treat his family like that and I should have just let them do it. In his culture, elders are important. I said in my culture, my boundaries and health are more important than your great-grandma’s ego. We haven’t spoken since, and a friend suggested I might have been insensitive. So, was I unreasonable?'

There are a lot of old remedies that are useful, that are passed down with families. Butter on burns is one that needs to be ignored. Perhaps you could have just agreed with it for a few minutes, then made an excuse to leave instead of opposing their belief.
Why, it's a stupid old fashioned idea that does more harm than good.
The mother was a nurse and she is his MOTHER. Buggar the old biddies ego.
Time for a new boyfriend, this one's a loser.