“I don’t think she expected it!”: A baker mum’s “cleaning sponge” makes the rounds on social media — can you spot what’s unusual?

A baker mum has driven social media users nuts after she created a "sponge" cake that looks just like the cleaning product.

mzVGZkCFSKI5faKYgeNclnEm6ZKz0UueuB4O0NOHTkYkfx2tlPapymI7enc8j21juy4QU7FxCvUOtFy8VdgwxsOn-LDJPk8AOd5TsKTmyt7WpEa9WgfsLsKRM_i72g7-PIN_S5o

A self-taught baker wows the internet with her realistic “sponge” cakes. Credit: Yvonne Glendinning Cadden.

Yes, you read that right! Yvonne Glendinning Cadden, a self-taught baker, decided to test her baking skills by surprising her friend on her birthday.

The mum told 7Lifestyle: “I like to try and do something different from the norm.”

And that's exactly what Yvonne did, modelling a birthday cake after a cleaning sponge using vibrant yellow and green sponge cakes and accessorising it with "edible foam" to imitate soapsuds.

“We always have a joke about how obsessed she is about keeping things clean and tidy," Yvonne said as she shared where she got the inspiration for the birthday cake.

“I just thought I’m going to make her a sponge cake, then I had a funny thought... how about I make one that looks like an actually cleaning sponge."

The self-taught baker admitted that whilst the process of making the sponge cakes was easy, matching the colours of the cake batter with the cleaning sponge was tricky.

“The top had to have the rough scourer effect so I needed to work on that to get it right,” she said.

Yvonne then added details to the cake by making edible foam using egg whites, water icing, and food gel colouring.

And the result was an insanely accurate edible cleaning sponge!

Yvonne said: “I don’t think she expected it!”

“When it was cut the kids thought they were actually real sponges and refused to have a piece until we [the adults] did.”